COMIFAC - the Central African Forests Commission

The legal basis for the Central African Forests Commission (COMIFAC) was laid in 1999 with the Yaoundé Declaration, concluded during the Summit meeting of the Heads of State of Cameroon, the Republic of Congo, Chad, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and the Central African Republic. The Declaration recognizes the protection of the Congo basin ecosystems as an integral component of the development process and reaffirms the signatories' commitment to work together to promote the sustainable use of the Congo basin forest ecosystems.


The conference of ministers in charge of the forests of Central Africa (COMIFAC), later on established as the "Central African Forests Commission", received mandate to coordinate the monitoring of activities aimed at implementing the Declaration in the region.


The  COMIFAC Convergence Plan, adopted by the Head of State of Central Africa in 2005, defines a common regional intervention strategy for the countries of the subregion and their international development partners.

The ten strategic axes of the Convergence Plan:

(1)   harmonizing forest policy and taxation

(2)   resource knowledge and inventory

(3)   ecosystem management

(4)   biodiversity conservation

(5)   sustainable use of forest resources

(6)   alternative income generation
(7)   capacity development and training

(8)   research
(9)   innovative financing mechanisms

(10) regional cooperation and partnerships